Skip to content

Utada Hikaru – Jinsei Saikou no Hi

November 8, 2016

Jinsei Saikou no Hi – 人生最高の日 – The Best Day of My Life

どんどん君に恋する
もう止まんない もう止まんない
シェイクスピアだって驚きの展開
That’s life

dondon kimi ni koi suru
mou tomannai mou tomannai
SHEIKUSUPIA datte odoroki no tenkai
That’s life

I’m falling quickly in love with you
I can’t stop now, I can’t stop now
A surprising, Shakespearean development
That’s life

いつもと違うバスに乗って
待ちに待ったこの待ち合わせ

itsumo to chigau BASU ni notte
machi ni matta kono machiawase

When I took a different bus than usual
This meeting was waiting for me at the stop

どんな服着て なんて言うかなって
登場シーン 脳内再生

donna fuku kite nante iu ka na tte
toujou SHIIN nounai saisei

What should I wear, what should I say?
In the scene where you made your entrance, my mind was reborn

だんだん君に近づく
待ってちょうだい 待ってちょうだい
シェイクスピアだって驚きの展開
That’s life
人生最高の日になるかもしんない
苦尽甘来

dandan kimi ni chikadzuku
matte choudai matte choudai
SHEIKUSUPIA datte odoroki no tenkai
That’s life
jinsei saikou no hi ni naru kamo shinnai
kujinkanrai

I’m drawing gradually closer to you
Wait for me, wait for me
A surprising, Shakespearean development
That’s life
This might be the best day of my life
After the bitter comes the sweet

いつもと同じ台詞だって
微妙に異なるニュアンス

itsumo to onaji serifu datte
bimyou ni kotonaru NYUANSU

I say the same lines as usual
But there’s a subtly different nuance

こんな歌聴いてテンションあげなくたって
平常心 崩壊寸前

konna uta kiite TENSHON agenakutatte
heijoushin houkai sunzen

When I listen to this song, I get excited
My self-possession is on the brink of collapse

どんどん君に恋する
もう止まんない もう止まんない
歓声にも罵声にも拍手喝采にも
振り返んない

dondon kimi in koi suru
mou tomannai mou tomannai
kansei ni mo basei ni mo hakushukassai ni mo
furikaennai

I’m falling quickly in love with you
I can’t stop now, I can’t stop now
Through the cheers and the boos and the applause
I won’t turn back

一寸先が闇なら 二寸先は明るい未来
シェイクスピアだって驚きの展開
That’s life
人生最高の日になるかもしんない
虚心坦懐

issunzaki ga yami nara nissunsaki wa akarui mirai
SHEIKUSUPIA datte odoroki no tenkai
That’s life
jinsei saikou no hi ni naru kamo shinnai
kyoshintankai

If the future one inch ahead is in darkness, the future two inches ahead is bright [1]
A surprising, Shakespearean development
That’s life
This might be the best day of my life
I’m keeping a calm and open mind

シェイクスピアだって驚きの展開
That’s life

SHEIKUSUPIA datte odoroki no tenkai
That’s life

A surprising, Shakespearean development
That’s life

Notes:

[1] “(The future) one inch ahead is in darkness” is a saying to the effect of “no one knows what the future holds”; I’ve had to translate it literally here for the bit of wordplay to make sense.

(Original lyrics by Utada Hikaru)

From → Utada Hikaru

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

